20th Congress of the                
European Shock Society 2023        

21.9. - 23.9.2023 | Vienna

Registration and Abstract Submission will open soon

40th Anniversary
of the
European Shock Society



Welcome Letter

Welcome to Vienna!

Dear ESS family and sympathizers,

After a four-year long pause caused by the COVID-19, we finally have a chance to meet again face-to-face - our European Shock Society (ESS) congress is back in business! The 20th ESS congress is unique as it marks the 40th anniversary of the ESS existence. Yet again, after successful 2005 and 2013 editions, we are inviting you to the European crossroads – Vienna.

To appropriately mark this special occasion, we located the congress in an elegant intellectual ambience of the University of Vienna. Additionally, we have organized a program truly worthy of such an anniversary – please review the details of the scientific and social events provided on this website.

Personally, I am very thrilled about the “40 Years of ESS: Reminiscences” round-table that will bring together the past ESS presidents – nearly all have confirmed their presence.

As before, this biennial event focuses on merging translational sciences with clinical needs in the area of critical care illnesses. We are honored to welcome in Vienna numerous renowned scientists including Alberto Mantovani as the keynote presenter. Our speakers, who come from all corners of the European continent (and beyond), will ensure an exciting thematic diversity and top meritorious quality.

As always, we have put an utmost effort to make our ESS congress junior-friendly. It features several events specifically oriented toward students and junior scientists including the pre-congress ESS Summer School and the European New Investigator Award Competition. There will also be ample opportunities for meritorious recognition and presentation of research findings.

It goes without saying that we are very much looking forward to your participation in this scientifically important and enjoyable event in the beautiful city of Vienna. See you ‘all in September!


My sincere regards,



Marcin Osuchowski,
ESS President & Congress Organizer

Summer School

For more information on the summer school click HERE

Scientific Programme

For more information on the individual programme points please click on the picture!

Social Programme

Dinner for the ESS board and past ESS presidents - Ristorante Settimo Cielo

Wednesday, 20.09.2023


     © Ristorante Settimo Cielo

Get-together - Uni Vienna

Thursday, 21.09.2023


Speakers Dinner - 12 Apostelkeller

Thursday, 21.09.2023


     © 12 Apostelkeller

Shock(ing) Organ Concert – Jesuit Church

Friday, 22.09.2023


     © Jesuitenkommunität Wien I.

sit-in Gala Dinner - Festsaal, City Hall Vienna

Saturday, 23.09.2023


     © C Jobst PID


Speakers and Chairs

Keynote Speaker
Mantovani Alberto | Italy


Last Name First Name Country
Barrat-Due Andreas Norway
Bermejo-Martin Jesus Spain
Billiar Timothy USA
Bischoff Sabine Germany
Boros Mihaly Hungary
Bosmann Markus Germany
Chalkias Anasthasios Greece
Chaudry Irshad USA
Chousterman Benjamin France
Coldeway Sina Germany
David Sascha Switzerland
Drechsler Susanne Austria
Dyson Alex UK
Flohe Stephanie Germany
Fric Jan Czech Republic
Giamarellos-Bourboulis J. Evangelos Greece
Gommeren Kris Belgium
Gozdzik Waldemar Poland
Gratz Johannes Austria
Heinl Celine Germany
Herminghaus Anna Germany
Herpain Antoine Belgium
Holnthoner Wolfgang Austria
Huber-Lang Markus Germany
Jeschke Marc Canada
Kerrigan Steve Ireland
Kilpatrick Laurie USA
Knapp Sylvia Austria
Kox Matthijs Netherlands
Leech Kirk UK
Last Name First Name Country
Maegele Marc Germany
Marzi Ingo Germany
Merz Tamara Germany
Molnar Zsolt Hungary
Moore Ernest USA
Müller Janis Germany
Neal Matthew USA
Pischke Soren Norway
Relja Borna Germany
Remick Daniel USA
Ribas-Ripoll Vincent Spain
Rubio Ignacio Germany
Scicluna Brendon Malta
Skirecki Tomasz Poland
Sohn Kai Germany
Szabo Andrea Hungary
Thiemermann Christoph UK
Uhle Florian Germany
Weber Viktoria Austria
Weidinger Adelheid Austria
Weihs Wolfgang Austria
Weis Sebastian Germany
Wiersinga Joost Netherlands
Winkler Martin Germany
Zingarelli Basilia USA
Zipperle Johannes Austria
Hausner (AUVA) Thomas Austria
Schlimp (AUVA) Christoph Austria
Schöchl (AUVA) Herbert Austria
Ullrich (AUVA) Roman Austria




































Scientific Lead

Congress Organization

Registration und Payment

Marcin Osuchowski, DVM, PhD
Head of Sepsis-Trauma-Shock Research, Deputy Director,
Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Traumatology 
The Research Center in Cooperation with AUVA
Donaueschingenstrasse 13
1200 Vienna, Austria
+43 5 93 93 41980 


Polijana Mesec

Nikolaus Schaden-Kajoui, MA
Austrian Workers‘ Compensation Board (AUVA)
Office for International Relations and Convention Management
Wienerbergstraße 11
1100 Vienna, Austria
+43 5 9393 20192

Sabrina Michelitsch
Austrian Workers‘ Compensation Board (AUVA)
Office for International Relations and Convention Management
Wienerbergstraße 11
1100 Vienna, Austria
+43 5 9393 20196



Universität Wien 

Universitätsring 1
1010 Vienna

How to get there:

Public transport


For more information about how to get there please visit their website:
How to find us (univie.ac.at)








Trauma Care Consult

pharm-analyt Labor GmbH



Registration Costs

Early-Bird Registration (before June 30, 2023)   Regular Registration (after June 30, 2023)   On-site Registration (September 21-23, 2023)
ESS member# € 450   ESS member# € 500   ESS member# € 550
ESS student-member*# € 350   ESS student-member# € 400   ESS student-member# € 450
Non-ESS participant € 550   Non-ESS member € 600   Non-ESS member € 650
Non-ESS student* € 400   Non-ESS student € 450   Non-ESS student € 500
AUVA member& € 250   AUVA member& € 300   AUVA member& € 350
Gala dinner (accompanying person) € 80   Gala dinner (accompanying person) € 80   Gala dinner (accompanying person) € 100


#   Any person who paid their ESS membership after the last ESS virtual congress (6 November 2021)

*   Any position below the postdoc/resident employment level.

&  Any person employed at the AUVA system regardless of the position held.

Available Meritorious Awards

For more Information on the Awards click directly on it!


1. ENIAC Award (1st, 2nd and 3rd place)

2. ESS Travel Awards

3. ESS President Awards

4. Poster Awards

5. Specialty Area Company Awards (models, biomarkers/diagnostics)

6. Günther Schlag Award

Abstract Submission

The submission of abstracts will soon be possible!

Deadline for submission: July 31st, 2023